Fast Facts About The BTCC

What Is The BTCC?

The BTCC or British Touring Car Championship is the UK’s premier saloon car racing series. Production-based touring cars compete against each other over ten rounds and 30 races with a champion being crowned at the end of the season. 

Teams are split between manufacturer-backed entries which compete with funding from major car manufacturers and independent or privateer teams, which are privately funded and receive no manufacturer backing. All the teams compete in the same race, and drivers are a mix of professional and amateur.

What Channel Is The BTCC On?

The BTCC enjoys extensive coverage on ITV 4, which airs trackside coverage from every BTCC round on Sunday. The main coverage show is often six hours in length and features action from the BTCC and support series. 

Sunday coverage is also accompanied with Saturday qualifying being streamed on the ITV BTCC website and a post-race 90-minute highlight show.

When Does The BTCC Start?

The 2020 BTCC season runs from the 28th/29th March weekend at Donington Park through to the 10th/11th October weekend at Brands Hatch Grand Prix.

How Old Is The BTCC?

The first-ever full British Touring Car Championship season took place in 1958 with Jack Sears as the series’ inaugural champion. The series was initially called the British Saloon Car Championship, and it continued to use that name until the start of the 1987 season when the name was changed to the British Touring Car Championship.

What Is The Race Format

A full BTCC weekend consists of two practice sessions on Saturday morning. On Saturday afternoon there is a 30-minute qualifying session which decides the grid for the first race of the weekend. 

On Sunday there are three races. The grid for race one is set from qualifying, with the grid for race two being set from the results from race one. For the third race of the day, a random number is drawn from positions 6th – 12th in race two. Depending on the number drawn, the grid will be reversed in race three. For example, if number 8 is drawn, the grid positions from 1st – 8th will be reversed.

Who Is The Current BTCC Champion?

Colin Turkington is the current BTCC drivers champion. His title win in 2019 was his fourth BTCC title.

Who Has Won The Most BTCC Titles?

Andy Rouse and Colin Turkington are the two drivers who have won the most BTCC titles. They each have four championships.