Latest Posts

British Touring Car Championship

btcc, dunlop british touring car championship, motorsport blog, alex dodds motorsport

Established in 1958 as the British Saloon Car Championship, the now titled Dunlop MSA British Touring Car Championship (BTCC) is the UK’s premier motor racing series, and has a rich history having seen some of motorsport’s most famous touring cars race at some of the world’s most famous tracks. There have been a variety of regulation changes over the BTCC’s history, as cars raced to Super Touring, BTC, Super 2000 and NGCT regulations, with NGCT being the required regulation from the 2014 season onwards.

Current Points System

Current BTCC points system (2012–Present)
Race  1st  2nd  3rd  4th  5th  6th  7th  8th  9th  10th  11th  12th  13th  14th  15th Pole Position
R1 20 17 15 13 11 10 9 8 7 6 5 4 3 2 1 1
R2 20 17 15 13 11 10 9 8 7 6 5 4 3 2 1
R3 20 17 15 13 11 10 9 8 7 6 5 4 3 2 1

In addition, every driver to lead a lap during the race, and the driver setting the fastest lap of the race receive one extra point.

Race Weekend Format

  • Two Practice Sessions on Saturday Morning
  • Half Hour Qualifying Session on Saturday Afternoon
  • Three Races on Sunday, usually between 16 and 20 laps depending on circuit length and safety cars

Past Champions (Driver, Manufacturers and Teams).

Overall Independent
Drivers’ Champion Manufacturers Champion Teams’ Champion Drivers’ Champion Teams’ Champion
1958 Jack Sears none none
1959 Jeff Uren none none
1960 Doc Shepherd none none
1961 Sir John Whitmore none none
1962 John Love none none
1963 Jack Sears none none
1964 Jim Clark none none
1965 Roy Pierpoint none Weybridge Engineering Company
1966 John Fitzpatrick none Team Lotus
1967 Frank Gardner none none
1968 Frank Gardner none none
1969 Alec Poole none none
1970 Bill McGovern none none
1971 Bill McGovern none none
1972 Bill McGovern none none
1973 Frank Gardner none none
1974 Bernard Unett none none
1975 Andy Rouse Chevrolet
1976 Bernard Unett none none
1977 Bernard Unett none none
1978 Richard Longman none none
1979 Richard Longman BL Mini none
1980 Win Percy none none
1981 Win Percy none none
1982 Win Percy none none
1983 Andy Rouse none none
1984 Andy Rouse Rover none
1985 Andy Rouse Ford none
1986 Chris Hodgetts Toyota none
1987 Chris Hodgetts Toyota none
1988 Frank Sytner BMW none
1989 John Cleland Vauxhall none
1990 Robb Gravett Ford none Frank Sytner
1991 Will Hoy BMW none Will Hoy
1992 Tim Harvey Vauxhall none James Kaye
1993 Joachim Winkelhock BMW(2) none Matt Neal
1994 Gabriele Tarquini Alfa Romeo none James Kaye
1995 John Cleland Renault Vauxhall Matt Neal
1996 Frank Biela Audi Audi Sport Lee Brookes
1997 Alain Menu Renault Williams Renault Dealer Racing Robb Gravett
1998 Rickard Rydell Volvo TWR Volvo Tommy Rustad
1999 Laurent Aiello Nissan Vodafone Nissan Racing Matt Neal
2000 Alain Menu’ Ford Ford Team Mondeo Matt Neal
2001 Jason Plato Vauxhall Vauxhall Motorsport none
2002 James Thompson Vauxhall Vauxhall Motorsport Dan Eaves
2003 Yvan Muller Vauxhall VX Racing Rob Collard
2004 James Thompson Vauxhall VX Racing Anthony Reid
2005 Matt Neal Vauxhall Team Halfords Matt Neal Team Halfords
2006 Matt Neal SEAT Team Halfords Matt Neal Team Halfords
2007 Fabrizio Giovanardi Vauxhall SEAT Sport UK Colin Turkington Team RAC
2008 Fabrizio Giovanardi Vauxhall VX Racing Colin Turkington Team RAC
2009 Colin Turkington Vauxhall VX Racing(4) Colin Turkington Team RAC(3)
2010 Jason Plato Honda Honda Racing Team Tom Chilton Team Aon
2011 Matt Neal Honda Honda Racing Team James Nash Triple 8 Race Engineering
2012 Gordon Shedden Honda Honda Yuasa Racing Team Andrew Jordan Pirtek Racing
2013 Andrew Jordan Honda Honda Yuasa Racing Team(2) Andrew Jordan Pirtek Racing
2014 Colin Turkington BMW eBay Motors Colin Turkington eBay Motors
2015 Gordon Shedden Honda Team BMR RCIB Insurance Colin Turkington Team BMR RCIB Insurance
%d bloggers like this: