BTCC 2020

Everything you need to know about the BTCC in 2020.

The 2020 BTCC season will be the 63rd running of Britain’s premier motorsport series and the 10th season running Next Generation Touring Car regulations. 

Defending Driver’s Champion: Colin Turkington

Defending Team’s Champions: Halfords Yuasa Racing

Defending Constructors Champions: BMW

Defending Independent Driver’s Champion: Rory Butcher

Colin Turkington became a four-time BTCC champion on a thrilling final day in 2019. Image thanks to BTCC / Jakob Ebrey.

2020 BTCC Race Calendar

Split over 30 races and 10 rounds, the 2020 BTCC calendar has several changes to previous seasons. 

Donington Park will host the season opener for the first time since 2005, Thruxton will return to hosting one round, and the BTCC will visit Silverstone twice, once on the National Circuit and once on the International Circuit. 

1, 2, 328th / 29th MarchDonington Park
4, 5, 611th / 12th AprilBrands Hatch Indy
7, 8, 925th / 26th AprilSilverstone National Circuit
10, 11, 1216th / 17th MayThruxton
13, 14, 1513th / 14th JuneOulton Park
16, 17, 1825th / 26th JulySnetterton
19, 20, 2115th / 16th AugustCroft
22, 23, 2429th / 30th AugustKnockhill
25, 26, 2726th / 27th SeptemberSilverstone International Circuit
28, 29, 3010th / 11th OctoberBrands Hatch Grand Prix

2020 BTCC Confirmed Team Entries

Image thanks to BTCC / Jakob Ebrey.

There will be a total of 30 entries for the 2020 season split between 15 teams. 

  • Aiden Moffat Racing: 1
  • AmD/Cobra Exhausts: 2
  • AmD/Trade Price Cars: 2
  • BTC Racing: 3
  • Ciceley Motorsport: 2
  • Excelr8 Motorsport: 2
  • Motorbase Performance: 
  • Power Maxed Racing: 2
  • Simpson Racing: 1
  • Speedworks Motorsport: 1
  • Team BMR: 1
  • Team Dynamics: 2
  • Team HARD: 4
  • Team Parker Racing: 1
  • West Surrey Racing: 

*Team BMR and Laser Tools Racing will combine to run a joint effort.

2020 BTCC Team/Driver Lineups

This section will be updated as more teams announce their driver lineups. 

Manufacturer Entries

BMW – BMW 330i M Sport

Team BMW/West Surrey Racing

Drivers: Colin Turkington, Andrew Jordan, Tom Oliphant

Honda -Honda Civic Type R (FK8)

Halfords Yuasa Racing/Team Dynamics

Drivers: Matt Neal, Dan Cammish

Vauxhall – Vauxhall Astra

Power Maxed Racing

Drivers: Jason Plato, Mat Jackson

Toyota – Toyota Corolla GT

Speedworks Motorsport

Drivers: Tom Ingram

Independent Entries

AmD Tuning.comHonda Civic Type R (FK2)

Drivers: Jake Hill, Sam Osborne

TradePriceCars.comAudi S3

Drivers: Bobby Thompson, James Gornall

BTC Racing – Honda Civic Type R (FK8)

Drivers: Josh Cook, Tom Chilton, Michael Crees

Excelr8 Motorsport – Hyundai i30 Fastback N Performance

Drivers: Senna Proctor, TBA

Laser Tools Racing – Infiniti Q50

Drivers: Aiden Moffat, Ashley Sutton

Ciceley Motorsport

Drivers: Adam Morgan, Dan Rowbottom

Motorbase PerformanceFord Focus RS

Drivers: Rory Butcher, Ollie Jackson, TBA

Team HARD – Volkswagen CC & BMW 125i M Sport

Drivers: Jack Goff, Carl Boardley (BMW), Mike Bushell

Team Parker Racing BMW 125i M Sport

Drivers: Stephen Jelley

Simpson Racing 

Drivers: TBA

Rule Changes For 2020

Success Ballast 

Maximum success ballast will be increased to 60kg, a 6kg increase from 2019. It will reduce in 6kg increments. 

Before qualifying ballast will be allocated to the top ten in the championship standings. It will then be re-allocated twice on race day, after race one and after race two. 


Goodyear will replace Dunlop as the BTCC’s sole tyre supplier. Drivers will also be required to use all three available tyre compounds at Snetterton and Croft.

They will no longer be required to specify the race they use the option tyre before Saturday’s qualifying, allowing for more flexibility in strategy on race day.

Shootout Qualifying

Snetterton will host a trial of a new shootout qualifying format with the top ten in regular qualifying advancing to a ten-minute shootout session to decide positions 1st to 10th on the grid.

2020 Race Results

This section will be updated as the season progresses.